Automatic mutual recognition

The automatic mutual recognition (AMR) scheme has commenced in the Northern Territory (NT) from 1 July 2022.

This scheme allows you to use your current licence or registration to do the same activities in another part of Australia. If you hold a current licence or registration in another state or territory, you may be able to work in the NT under the automatic mutual recognition scheme.

If you are eligible for the scheme, you will be required to lodge an AMR notification about your intention to work in the NT. There is no fee associated with this notification, and you will not be required to apply for a NT licence or registration.

For more information, notification form and lodgement details, go to the Northern Territory Government website.

Read the frequently asked questions fact sheet PDF (141.2 KB).

Please note:

Be sure to familiarise yourself with industry regulatory requirements for the NT by referring to Power and Water Corporation websiteNT WorkSafe website and building information on the Northern Territory Government website.