Composition of the Board

The Board consists of a Chairman, Deputy and three members, each appointed by the Minister for a term not exceeding three years. These members are drawn from various representative groups within the Plumbing Industry, as specified in the Plumbers & Drainers Licensing Act.

Current Board Membership

Position Name Representation
Chairman Richard McElwee Licensed Plumber & Drainer
Deputy Chairman Travis Miezis Licensed Plumber & Drainer
Members Rodney Cryer Department of Business
  Armando Padovan Director, Building Advisory Services
Department of Lands, Planning and the Environment
  Raymond Simpson Registered Training Organisations


Under the provisions of the Act, the Board can only issue Journeyman Registrations and Advanced Tradesman Licences in the categories of Plumbing and Draining. Endorsements for Backflow Prevention Devices and Hot Water Temperature Control Devices can be added on completion of the appropriate course. Certificates must be provided to the Board.